Benton County Solid Waste Disposal Commission

October 19, 2023 Meeting Minutes

The Regular meeting of the Benton County Solid Waste Disposal Commission was held Thursday October 19, 2023 at the Van Horne Community Center. Present was Brian McNulty, Blairstown, Eric Werner, Landfill Manager, Tracy Seeman, County, Jon Kaestner, County, Doug Kearns, Garrison, Jared Vogeler, Van Horne, Loras Schulte, Norway, Amy Boddicker, County, Doug Luzbatek, HLW, Terry Hertle, County, Alicia Presto, ECICOG, Bruce Cross, Newhall, Jim Kane, Atkins, Nancy Jensen, County, Nancy Thorkildson, Shellsburg, Jen Zahradnik, County and Mary Pech, Belle Plaine.

The meeting was called to order by Loras Schulte at 6:30 PM.

Motion made by Hertle, seconded by Cross to approve the September 21, 2023 minutes. All Ayes.

The Treasurer's Report was given. Motion made by Boddicker, seconded by Kearns to accept the Treasurer's Report. All Ayes.

Doug from HLW gave a report about the progress of the new cell construction.

The Landfill Manager's Report included fence installation and pump replacement. Motion made by Vogeler, seconded by Boddicker to accept the Landfill Manager's Report. All Ayes.

The ECICOG report included the compost bin rebate program and some grants that may be available. Motion made by Kaestner, seconded by Jensen to approve the ECICOG report. All Ayes.

Motion made by Seeman, seconded by Hertle to approve Resolution 2023-10-01: Approval of Expenditures. All Ayes.

Motion made by Cross, seconded by Boddicker to approve Resolution 2023-10-02: Approval of Transfer of Funds between Savings/Checking. All Ayes.

Motion made by Thorkildson, seconded by Seeman to approve Resolution 2023-10-03: Approval of Transfer of Funds to Capital Accounts. All Ayes.

Motion made by Zahradnik, seconded by Kearns to approve the Special Waste Authorization form with a minimum tonnage rate of \$200 and if there is an unusual situation to leave it to the discretion of the Landfill Manager. All Ayes.

Motion made by Boddicker, seconded by Kearns to approve the purchase of a GPS system for the compactor. All Ayes.

Motion made by Seeman, seconded by Jensen to approve a CD renewal. All Ayes.

Motion made by Seeman, seconded by Cross to table the Lagoon Relocation project.

Motion to adjourn made by Seeman, seconded by Hertle. All Ayes. Meeting adjourned at 7:20 PM.

Chairperson			